insta twitterrss2
Multi-language Web site on current affairs in the biggest russian region

NEFU and University of the Arctic to continue cooperation

  • Published in InFocus
IMG 3546 696x464

The joint projects of University of the Arctic and North-Eastern Federal University will be continued - the parties signed an agreement on future activities of the Russian-language Information Support Center of University of the Arctic, which has been operating since 2011 on the basis of NEFU. This was announced at "The Arctic - Territory of Dialogue" Forum, which was opened on March 29 in the city of Arkhangelsk.

The cooperation agreement was signed by NEFU Rector Evgenia Mikhailova and President of University of the Arctic Lars Kullerud. "The Russian-language Center of University of the Arctic is engaged in informing organizations and partner universities of the events and activities, scientific and educational projects, conducted by University of the Arctic, - says NEFU Vice-Rector for International Cooperation Vladlen Kugunurov. - In 2014, thanks to cooperation with the International Secretariat in Rovaniemi (Finland) and the Research Office at the Northern (Arctic) Federal University, an updated portal of University of the Arctic was launched in Russian -, which presents main sections of the English version."

The news site is mostly occupied by the announcements on the activities of partner universities and research institutions of University of the Arctic. It also highlights the activities and successful projects of the partner universities, the experience of participation in internships within North2North academic mobility. As part of the Center's activities, "Shared Voices" journal of University of the Arctic, dedicated to the 20th anniversary of the Arctic Council, was translated into Russian. The new agreement was signed for a period of 5 years, until 2022.

"The Arctic - Territory of Dialogue" Forum will gather over 1,500 scientists, politicians and experts, including 800 from abroad. The conference will be attended by the heads of three countries - Russia, Norway and Finland, as well as a large delegation from China for the first time, the observer countries of the Arctic Council, reported on the website of North-Eastern Federal University.